#Recharge your #battery

Shiela Cancino
3 min readMay 29, 2022

--

March 2020 — I was in Singapore when covid19 hit!

I had a plane ticket back to the Philippines, but I was determined not to go back home. I knew I wouldn’t be able to travel again due to the rising cases every day.

Before covid19, I would visit my family at least 5 times a year.

Each time I’m with my family, my battery is being recharged.

Since I returned to Hong Kong in April 2020, for 20 months, I didn’t see my family. I could feel that my battery is running low.

How do you usually recharge your battery?

Our family is so connected especially since I left the Philippines in 2007.

Each time I go back home, we would always ensure we spend quality time with each other.

Before covid19, if you have the money, it’s easy to travel.

Nowadays, the cost of traveling is so high.
We’re not only talking about the cost of the plane ticket, but also the stress of quarantining, and anxiety of catching a virus.

Last year during my performance meeting with my manager, whether I had passed the probation or not, I was thinking if I would ask for a vacation in the Philippines.

I thought about my battery running low and so I still said, “Can I please spend the holidays at home?”

Thankfully! My manager said yes!

I immediately booked a HK$5K plane ticket.

I realized late that my hotel quarantine, which is limited should also be booked in advance! And so I got another HK$2K one-way ticket.

Plane ticket and hotel — check!

Fast forward to my arrival in the Philippines — the covid19 protocols for travelers…

Do you still remember the feeling when you delivered your Ice Breaker speech in Toastmasters?

The feeling is like that plus the feeling of the contestants right now!

To cut the story short, before I got to see my family, I spent money, had two swab tests, and was quarantined for 7 days.

After all these struggles, see what happened. (My mom didn’t know that I was going home).

My flight to Hong Kong was scheduled for January 6. Today is January 15 and I’m still in the Philippines!

I’ve rebooked my ticket 5 times and this morning I got a message that it will change again.

Going back to HK, a swab test here in the Philippines.
When I arrive in Hong Kong, another swab test.
21 days of hotel quarantine and a series of swab tests.

Ladies and gentlemen, yes, the cost of money, anxiety, and energy are too high. But remember that my battery is at stake.

If I had continued without seeing my family, I’m not sure how long my battery would last.

So despite all these challenges, I was and am determined to see my family and recharge my battery.

And so my message for you is IDENTIFY how you recharge your battery.

I’d like you to know that NO virus could stop you from doing it.

And if your way of recharging the battery is connecting with friends, family, and loved ones, you are not only recharging your battery. You are also recharging theirs.

Friends, #recharge batteries!

#toastmasters #energy #family

Shiela Cancino, DTM, ICF Coach

She helps her clients transform from pawns to queens by uncovering their hidden treasures through #writing #keynotespeaking and #confidencecoaching. Shiela is a certified member of the International Coaching Federation.

She is a multiple-award-winning speaker at Toastmasters International, a Member of The Virtual Speakers Association (International), and Asia Professional Speakers Singapore. Shiela has worked in six countries around the world, run scholarship foundations that help underprivileged children, and enjoys helping adults discover their life purpose.

Shiela is also a veteran Chess Olympiad Player and author of “Pawn To Queen: Life’s Chess and Quest.”

https://flow.page/shielacancino

--

--

Shiela Cancino

I help Asian Women advance in their careers without sacrificing “me time” all the time through confidence-building workshops & confidence coaching.